All About Me!

Welcome to “It’s just so…um…blahg!.”  I’m new at this and still learning, so have patience.

Just a little bit about me…

I grew up in what used to be the small town of Windsor in colorful Colorado. (It has since then grown considerably.) I got my Bachelor’s in Journalism from Colorado State University. However, being hard of hearing since birth, I soon realized I wasn’t cut out to be a journalist since it is of utmost importance to “get the facts straight.” Did I waste my degree? No, not really, although in retrospect, I probably should’ve worked on a Creative Writing degree. Oh, well.  After graduation, I headed to Tuscon, Arizona and got a job in an advertising agency as Media Assistant.

After I was laid off, I moved to Burbank, California and got a job in the music licensing industry at Warner Music Group. After 11 years listening to our music synchronized in movies and television, I decided I needed to follow my creative aspiration. But after 911, I decided to move back to Colorado.

Although I miss my beloved Burbank, my home resides in Colorado. I discovered my passion for writing in a very unusual manner — while I was studying “The Idiot’s Guide to Learning Spanish.” Really. Honestly. The book gave little tidbits on what not to say when speaking to a Spanish-speaking person. That’s when I began thinking, “Wouldn’t it be funny if [insert something embarrassing].” After I said, “Wouldn’t it be funny if…?” enough times, a relative said, “Shouldn’t you be writing this down?”

So I bought a book on screenwriting and began writing. When I was done, I gave myself a pat on the back…and then I thought, I’d better read another book. After reading a second book, I realized my story needed revising. After I revised it I gave myself two thumbs up, and then thought, I’d better read another book. After reading “How Not to Write a Screenplay, I realized my story was in dire need of major revision. Satisfied with my third revision, I thought, Now this is ready, and then, I’d better read another book. Sixteen screenwriting books later, I finally felt I had a grasp of the art of storytelling — character arc, conflicts, growth, action, etc.

When I’m not writing, I’m usually daydreaming about what to write next.  Eventually, I plan to have my own website with stories you might like. It’s still in the daydreaming phase, so more on that later…

When I’m not doing those things, I’m learning Spanish, Italian, French, Portuguese, and American Sign Language.  I like to sing…but you’d kick me out of Karaoke. (The boyfriend wears earplugs.)  If you want to be friends with me on Facebook, I’m Zanna Shirmana.

Ciao for now…

Leave a Reply

